Twitter-chat-2-LB.jpg

@GoodID Twitter Chat: How can we ensure Good ID reflects a right-based lens?

  • Live chat
  • By Good ID team (Good ID)
  • 2 July 2019

Unfold Stories are hosting a series of online chats about Good ID, supported by Omidyar Network. These chats are open, public debates about key issues that matter most to you and your peers in the #GoodID movement

We're asking world-leading human rights advocates and researchers: How can we ensure Good ID reflects a right-based lens?

The second chat will explore how and when human rights defenders should engage in the policy decisions and design of Good ID. It will also investigate how could right-based Good ID vary by country or region in practice, and if there are aspects of Good ID that are applicable everywhere.

Laura Bingham, Senior Team Manager at Open Society Foundation Justice Initiative, Laura Goodwin, Director, Citizenship Program at Namati, and Tom Fisher, Research Officer at Privacy International, will be leading the discussion on July 22 @ 10:00 EDT / 14:00 UTC / 7:00 PST / 15:00 BST / 17:00 EAT.

How to get involved:

  • Log on to Twitter on July 22 at 14:00 UTC / 10:00 EDT and join the chat

  • Send your questions in advance, or live!
    Your question might be curated @GoodID for the experts and leaders to answer, and you can reply with your own responses.
    Send in advance directly to Kara Chiuchiarelli at kara@unfoldstories.co.uk, or via our contact form

The second chat will explore how and when human rights defenders should engage in the policy decisions and design of Good ID. Some questions we've already received include:

  • How should societies develop, deploy, and govern identification systems in ways that advance inclusion? Ensure promote individual agency and value? Protect both privacy and security?
  • And in what ways, can human rights be embedded in the design and implementation of digital identity-related policy? Technology? Practices?
  • How can transparency and other forms of accountability reinforce these rights?
  • What are demonstrated strategies to ensure policy decisions around digital identity are driven by the promotion and protection of human rights, rather than short-term political gain?
  • What is the ideal role for civil society and human rights defenders in decisions related to digital identity?
  • How are these groups engaging across the globe?
  • What do these groups want most from governments, businesses and other decision-makers?

It will also investigate how could right-based Good ID vary by country or region in practice, and if there are aspects of Good ID that are applicable everywhere.

Some questions we've already received include:

  • What should a right-based approach to digital identity look like in practice?
  • What human rights apply to digital identity? What new rights do we need to establish in the digital age?
  • What are the human rights risks of poorly implemented digital identity? What specific design decisions undermine human rights?
  • Do human rights considerations vary by context, or are there universal rights that could be applied to Good ID? Do human rights considerations vary by context, or are there universal rights that could be applied to Good ID?
  • How can Good ID extend additional protections beyond these rights?
  • What else needs to be in place within society to ensure identification ecosystems protect human rights? What institutions or social contracts need to be there?

Comments

Add new comment

captcha

When you click Submit you accept our Privacy Policy and Community Moderation Policy.
Need to delete your comment?