Twitter-chat3-LB-web-card.jpg

@GoodID Twitter Chat: How can research and evidence shape Good ID?

  • Live chat
  • By Good ID team (Good ID)
  • 5 September 2019

Unfold Stories are hosting a series of online chats about Good ID, supported by Omidyar Network. These chats are open, public debates about key issues that matter most to you and your peers in the #GoodID movement

We're asking identity research experts from academia, law, design and storytelling: How can research and evidence shape Good ID?

This third chat will explore evidence-building, putting a myriad of transdisciplinary Good ID research into practice, and identifying new areas to explore. It will also encourage anyone interested in the #GoodID movement to share their evidence and research, in any form, that can be promoted on the #GoodID website or Twitter channel.

Dakota Gruener, executive director of ID2020, Fabro Steibel (executive director) and Alexandre Barbosa (innovation researcher) at the Institute for Technology & Society of Rio de Janeiro (ITS Rio), Dr. Keren Weitzberg, author, researcher, consultant and educator at University College London, and Linda Bonyo, founder of Lawyers Hub Kenya, will be leading the discussion on September 19 @ 11:00 EDT / 15:00 UTC / 18:00 EAT / 16:00 BST/ 12:00 BRT / 08:00 PST.

How to get involved:

#GoodID is a proud transdisciplinary movement – all perspectives and backgrounds are welcome! We know “evidence” can mean different things in different contexts and communities.

The #GoodID movement welcomes all types of evidence to further Good ID policies into practice – from case studies to macro quantitative analyses, individual stories to legal references, white papers to social media – ALL evidence is welcome and valid for this #GoodIDChat.

The chat will focus on constructive debate, not which evidence type is more valid than another.

The third chat will will explore evidence-building, putting a myriad of transdisciplinary Good ID research into practice. It will also identify new areas of research and evidence to explore.

Some questions we've already received include:

  • What evidence is being used to make digital identity decisions today – by governments but also by platforms, banks, and other service providers?
  • What evidence is missing from digital identity decisions and why is it important?
  • Why isn't there more evidence on Good ID in practice?
  • Knowing digital ID is more than tech, what can the community learn from other research disciplines – political science, sociology, philosophy, anthropology, etc. – that would lead to stronger safeguards and more empowering outcomes?
  • What evidence are you aware of that demonstrates the rationale for and impact of greater privacy in digital ID systems? What about security? inclusion? user control? user value? transparency? accountability?
  • What examples have you found of Good ID in practice (technology, policy, & people's personal experiences)?
  • What examples have you found of exclusion, discrimination, surveillance, and other negative outcomes from poorly designed systems?
  • What is the best format evidence can take to make it accessible and actionable?
  • What research or other evidence gathering are you pursuing now, and how can others contribute or access it?

Comments

Add new comment

captcha

All comments must be approved before they are published.
When you click Submit you accept our Privacy Policy and Community Moderation Policy.
Need to delete your comment?